How Many Times Can You Take The LSAT?

Directly from LSAC

Starting with the September 2019 test administration, test takers will be permitted to take the LSAT:

  • Three times in a single testing year (the testing year goes from June 1 to May 31).
  • Five times within the current and five past testing years (the period in which LSAC reports scores to law schools).
  • A total of seven times over a lifetime.

From SCG — It's not clear what the LSAC policy would be in the instance that an individual has taken the LSAT seven times and all seven scores have expired. The likeliest outcome is that LSAC would allow that individual an additional test opportunity.

Also from LSAC, but in our wording:

  • Please note: With the introduction of the LSAT-Flex, LSAC made the decision that the May, June, July, and August 2020 LSAT-Flex tests do not count toward these limits. However, in light of the ongoing COVID-19 situation, they announced a new policy: should the LSAT-Flex be administered AFTER August 2020, LSAT-Flex tests after the August 2020 administration will count toward LSAT testing limits.

This policy is forward-looking, not retroactive. Tests taken prior to September 2019 will not count against these numerical limits.

In addition, test takers will not be permitted to retake the LSAT if they have already scored a 180 (perfect score) within the current and five past testing years, the period in which LSAC reports scores to law schools. This aspect of the policy will be applied retroactively.

Anxious about an upcoming LSAT? Read this blog.